Nominations for the 2013 Historic Preservation Awards are Now Open

Celebrating Those Who Preserve Our Past: Otsego 2000 Calls for Nominations for the 2013 Historic Preservation Awards

Cooperstown, NY, February 21, 2013
Contact: Ellen Pope, (607) 547-8881,

Otsego 2000 is now accepting nominations for the 2013 Historic Preservation Awards. For over a decade, these awards have been honoring individuals and groups in Otsego and Schoharie counties that have worked hard to document, preserve and protect the historic homes, storefronts, commercial and agricultural buildings that contribute so much to our communities’ special sense of place and make our hamlets, villages, and valleys so attractive.

Nominations for the historic preservation awards are encouraged in the categories of career achievement, adaptive re-use, stewardship, rehabilitation, restoration, preservation planning, and community education and outreach (category descriptions can be found, along with the nomination form, at www.otsego Nominated projects must have been completed in the past five years; incomplete projects will not be considered. Nominators are encouraged to call Otsego 2000 to review their nominations to ensure that they are eligible under at least one of the categories. An independent judging panel composed of historic preservation professionals and others from related fields will select the award winners, who will be honored at a ceremony and reception to be held in September.

Since 1999, Otsego 2000 has sponsored the annual Historic Preservation Awards for Otsego and Schoharie Counties. The awards recognize and celebrate those who have preserved our historic buildings, sites, and communities, or have spent considerable time documenting local history. A variety of people and projects have been recognized over the years, including the restoration, adaptive re-use, or rehabilitation of historic buildings, educational exhibits, and individuals who have made significant contributions to the historic preservation of their communities. The 2012 Historic Preservation Awards included awards for the Erastus Warren House in Cooperstown, the Chartwell House in Sharon Springs, the Gilbert Lake State Park Maintenance Shop, and the Jacob Gale Barn in Roseboom.

For further information, please contact Otsego 2000 at (607) 547-8881. Please note that all nominations must be received by 5 pm on June 14, 2013.  Click here for the nomination form.